New York State of Mind

This corner, for one, Truly, Madly, Deeply believes in & respects the fundamental human dignity of Stephon Xavier Marbury … as evidenced in this interview, from yesterday, with Bruce Beck:

Marbury Speaks Out About Future With Knicks

[on a bigger picture]

“First of all, I would just like to say how good God is, how good he’s been to me, whereas talking about being waived this year … it’s nothing … because being in this peaceful place [as a state-of-mind-and-body-and-spirit] … it’s the best thing that has ever happened to me … and, Playing basketball, it’s so small, you know, it’s a bigger, bigger picture going on, as far as me being waived and if I’m gonna be here and all of the speculation … at the end of the day, I wanna play basketball, so it doesn’t matter if I’m waived or not.”

[on the correct framework for success]

“I’ve worked extremely hard, I worked out six months straight, you know, I dedicated myself to gettin back in the best shape of my life, I’m 200 lbs, I’m 7.5 body fat, uhmm … I’m eating right, I’m living right, I’m doing all of the things, I’m doing all of the things that I’m supposed to do to put myself in the situation where I can come out and be a dominant force … I’m mentally right, physically right, spiritually right … I’m inclined with myself, I’m in tune with what I have to do on the basketball court … I mean, I’m ready to play basketball, and it doesn’t where.”

[on when & what to fight]

“I felt like I have a lot to prove … you know, a lot of people have said that I can’t play anymore, you know, you have reporters walkin around with no spirit, sayings things about me that aren’t true, and they can say those things because they’re not, they don’t feel anything within themselves, so you know, when I hear the things that they’re saying, I’m like, wow, that’s malicious, you know to say these things about me and to talk about me the way that they’ve been talkin about me, it’s wrong … so for me, the only thing I can fight is principalities, I can’t fight people.”

==================

Yes, it’s a long interview … at 13+ minutes.
Watch it all for yourself.

Laugh if you will, but … to these ears, heart, and mind … there’s an awful lot to genuinely like about this young man.

Hopefully he will find a place to ply his trade this season.

No human being is perfect, or can ever come close to reaching that standard … BUT each and everyone of us deserves a second chance … and a third, and a fourth, and fifth, and a sixth, etc., etc., etc.

==================

IF

If you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you
But make allowance for their doubting too,
If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
Or being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
Or being hated, don’t give way to hating,
And yet don’t look too good, nor talk too wise:

If you can dream–and not make dreams your master,
If you can think–and not make thoughts your aim;
If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
And treat those two impostors just the same;
If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
And stoop and build ’em up with worn-out tools:

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
And risk it all on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
And lose, and start again at your beginnings
And never breath a word about your loss;
If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
To serve your turn long after they are gone,
And so hold on when there is nothing in you
Except the Will which says to them: “Hold on!”

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
Or walk with kings–nor lose the common touch,
If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you;
If all men count with you, but none too much,
If you can fill the unforgiving minute
With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run,
Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
And–which is more–you’ll be a Man, my son!

–Rudyard Kipling

=======================

Doing the best that you can do, at all times, is the best that you can hope for and achieve.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

